Three things I do before getting to sleep

I am so grateful that I have got the opportunity to attend many Sikh camps here in Norway. I have learned a lot from them. I am going to share with you three things I do before getting to sleep which I have learned by attending camps.

Before going to sleep I reflect upon three things:
1. How much positive/useful time did I use on myself and others.
In sikhi we have the concept of dasvand – to give away 1/10 of the day to others – it could be time, money, help etc. In one day we have 24 hours – that means (atleast) 2.4 hours a day should be your daswand – time devoted to others or indirectly to others by using time to become a better person. If I have used less than 2.4 hours, my day went in minus. If I have used 2.4 hours, my day was neutral. But if I have used more than 2.4 hours, my day went in plus. This exercise makes me more aware of how useful the day was.

2. Have I been the lotus flower in the mud?
Like the lotus flower which is unaffected by the mud (it flourishes in the muddy water), have I been flourishing in the challenges this day brought? Or did I become dirty – got nervous, reacted with anger, got jealous etc? This exercise makes me more aware of my way of tackling challenges and what consequences it had.

3. What am I grateful for?
Before listening to shabad and getting to sleep, this is the last thing I do. I remember every single thing that happened during the day that I am grateful for. This makes me more aware of how we complain the whole day, when there are a lot of things to be grateful for. Why we never tell others what we are grateful for, just what’s not right/good that day.

Maybe this is of any help for you? It helps me a lot 🙂 now I have to say good night and use my time to reflect on these things. Are you going to do the same?

Want to be updated for new posts? Like the page “thoughtfulkaur” on facebook 🙂

Leave a Reply

